FIFA Election Today

Acting on an indictment by the U.S. Justice Department, Swiss police arrested several top FIFA officials on charges of corruption on Wednesday. They were accused of widespread corruption dating to the 1990s.

Sepp Blatter – the FIFA president – was not arrested, and is expected to win a fifth term as FIFA’s president today, Friday.  Blatter became president of FIFA in 1998.

The FIFA congress will begin at 8:30am UK time on Friday (9:30am in Zurich, 3:30am New York time).

The Guardian reports that here are several items on the agenda – including “suspension or expulsion of a member” and “president’s address” – before “item 17:” election of the president.  The results of that election may be around 4:00pm UK time (around 11:00 am New York time).

Incumbent FIFA president Sepp Blatter – angling for a fifth term in the top job – and his only rival, Prince Ali bin al-Hussein, will each address the congress before the 209 associations cast their votes, according to The Guardian.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s